Home >>  Labour and Birth  >>  The 3 stages of labour

The 3 stages of labour

Your labour will occur in three distinct phases from the moment you feel your first contraction to the moment you deliver your placenta. No one’s labour is the same and you can be in labour for anywhere between 10 and 20 hours, but there’s still some people who are in labour for less or more time. So if we’re being honest, we have NO idea how long your labour will last, but we do know you’re going to do an amazing job.

The first stage of labour is the dilation of your cervix from 0 cm. to 10 cm. and is when you will get to feel all of those lovely contractions.

The second stage of labour is the pushing stage and will end as soon as your gorgeous baby has entered the world.

The third stage of labour is the delivery of the placenta or the afterbirth.

So take a look to see exactly what you are going to experience during each phase of labour.

Tags: , , ,

Did you like this article?
Would you like to stay updated?

Skip to toolbar